Anyways

Much has changed and happened since my last post on here. I’m not even going to start with apologies for not updating anymore, as has become custom on this blog, because for once I was too busy doing things not in front of my laptop. Count this as the update post.

First: I’m done with uni. I’m graduating next Friday with a bachelor’s degree in Political Science and a minor in English literature, and I’m graduating honorable mention. Which I didn’t expect at all! In third year I was gunning for cum laude and up, of course, like nerds do, but things were looking bleak for me, and last semester I thought I wouldn’t be able to get first honors to get that honorable mention QPI, but I did. I don’t know how it happened, considering I cut more classes last sem than I typically do, I hated my classes and didn’t like my professors too much, and I wrote all my papers on the same day they were due regardless of whether it was a page or fifteen pages. And I don’t believe that grades and awards are a measure of anything but I’m grateful for this small institutional recognition of my capabilities as a student, a thinker, a future academic, a lifelong learner.

Second: So, there, I’m no longer a student, which means I am now faced with the ever-daunting prospect of employment. This is still thorny terrain for me—I’m not sure what I want to do, or I’m not sure if that’s what I should be doing, I’m not sure if I can do much of anything well enough to be hired for it. I don’t know if I want to rest first and just write or something. To top off all of that uncertainty, I am always anxious at the thought of being unable to be financially independent ever. I’m sure this anxiety will be quelled once I actually have a steady paycheck to look forward to monthly, but till then, I am always thinking, what if I can’t afford the things I want anymore?

Third: This is more of a note to self for future posts. I have so many stories now! I’ve seen many places, been pried out off my shell. I’ve learned so much and I’ve grown so quickly in such a short amount of time. I have many things to share, and I will!

Lastly: This is the man I’m in love with. His name is Orwen and I could write about him endlessly. I intend to.

There’s more to be said about him and us, but I’ll leave that for another post. Now that I have all this time, I should be around here more often.

Leave a Reply

